Taking the helm of the Waterford Scout County

  • Published: January 22nd, 2004
  • Author:
  • Comments Closed

On the 20th of January last at the Waterford Crystal Sports Complex the New County Management Committee was elected. They are as follows: County Commissioner, Jody Phelan; County Chairperson, Brian Gaule – 1st Port of Waterford Sea Scouts; County Secretary, Alison Parle – St Pauls; County Treasurer, Brendan Doherty –

Group Christmas Mass and Awards

The annual Christmas Unit Mass and award ceremony was held on Sunday the 14th of December at the De La Salle College chapel.  The mass was celebrated by the Regional Chaplain, Fr. Tom Rogers and was attended by all sections in the Unit.   Kate Hayes, pictured below with her family

Historic Flag Down Ceremony

The Chief Scout, Peter Dixon held a ‘Flag Down’ Ceremony on Sunday 7th of December last to mark the end of the Association and the very last Board Meeting. He presented the Association Flag to a Cub Scout (Below). The Unit was represented by David Rogers and Pat Murphy at

Waterford Scout County on the way

Pictured below are David Rogers, Unit Leader; Derrick Watson – Provincial Commissioner, South Eastern Province, Scouting Ireland and Jody Phelan,  the current Regional Commissioner who is also the new Waterford Scout County Commissioner Elect.  They met on the 26th of November last at St. Paul’s Scout Den in Waterford during a

Regional Swimming Gala

The Regional Swimming Gala was held on Sunday the 23rd of November last at the Waterford Crystal Leisure centre.  Over 60 scouts from 7 troops took part.  St. Pauls were the overall winners with Tramore coming 2nd.  The 3rd and 7th De La Salle troops were third and fourth respectively. 

75th Anniversary Celebration Weekend

Above: Pictured at Waterford City Hall are from L-R John Sharpe, Owen Riordan, Stacia Coughlan, Paschal Guilfoyle, Pat Murphy, Peter Dixon, Chief Scout, Robert Windle, Tom Cunningham, Mayor, George Kavanagh, Billy Collins, David Rogers and Ray Smith. The weekend of the 8th and 9th of November last saw a number of

Awards Ceremony at Waterford Crystal

Above: John Cummins who received his Chief Scouts Award from the Chief Scout, Peter Dixon is pictured with his family.  The topic of John’s project was Formula 1 Racing. On Friday the 7th of November last a special awards ceremony was held at the Waterford Crystal showrooms at which 9 members

Scouting Ireland – Before and After

Scouting Ireland the new unified Scout association for this country will officially exist as of 1st January 2004. The De La Salle Scout Unit firmly believes that this new association will help to deliver a successful future for scouting in this country. Well done to all those in both associations

Landmark New Members

Above: Pictured are David Rogers, Unit Leader, Niamh Casey, Lucy Power and Billy Collins, Scoutleader of the 7th.  Niamh and Lucy are the first female scouts in De La Salle.

Scouting Ireland – We Are One!

The 11th of May 2003 was an historic day for Scouting in Ireland. It was the day when the two Irish Scouting organisations voted in favour of forming one new organisation – Scouting Ireland – which will officially exist as of 1st January 2004. Scouting Ireland (SAI) and Scouting Ireland