Silver Wolfhound Recipients Reunited

Above: Pat Murphy, Pipe Major-De La Salle Scout Pipe Band, Liam Butler and Bro. Finbar O’Keeffe, Former Unit Leaders of the De La Salle Scout Group. All holders of the Order of the Silver Wolfhound from Scouting Ireland (CSI). The Order of the Silver Wolfhound is the highest award a person

Chief Scout Award Night

  • Published: October 1st, 2004
  • Author:
  • Comments Closed

Pictured: David Rogers, Group Leader; Mary O’Halloran, Deputy Mayor; Martin Burbidge, Chief Scout; Kate Hayes, Chief Scout Award Recipient. On Friday the 1st of October, the Chief Scout, Martin Burbidge was in the city to present Kate Hayes with her Chief Scouts Award.  The ceremony took place at the Waterford

7th do us proud at National Patrol Challenge

Above: The Team from the 7th Waterford on the National Patrol Challenge 2004. Well done to the scouts from the 7th who took part in the National Patrol Challenge which was held at Larch Hill in Dublin from the 19th to the 22nd of August 2004. The event was based around Campcraft

County Venturer Group London Expedition 2004

Above: The Waterford Scout County Venture Scouts during their group expedition to London in 2004. From the 2nd to the 5th of July 2004 the Waterford Scout County Venturer Group held their expedition for 2004 to London.  It was attended by Brian Walsh, Leon Mullally, Michael Cleary and Colm O’hOgartaigh from

Garden Day Success and Development Fund Launch

Above: George Kavanagh with guests at the historic Sion Hill House. On Sunday the 20th of June last the Group held an open day at the renowned and historic settings of Sion Hill House and Gardens in Waterford. The event was hosted by George and Antoinette Kavanagh.  The day included guided

Pipe Band 70th Anniversary Celebrations and Awards

Above: The De La Salle Scout Pipe Band departs from St. Patrick’s Church. The group would like to extend its sincere thanks to all those who contributed to the success of it’s recent celebrations to mark the 70th Anniversary of the De La Salle Scout Pipe Band. The History of the De La Salle

7th Troop National Scout Awards

Congratulations to Maurice Kavanagh and Brian Walsh of the 7th De La Salle Scout Troop who were awarded with their National Scout Awards on Saint Patrick’s Day. The awards were made by the Waterford County Programme Coordinator for Scouts, Tom Casey who praised their achievement.  Scoutleader, Billy Collins was delighted

Order of Malta honour Group’s 75 Years

On the 17th of February the Waterford Unit of the Order of Malta made a presentation to the De La Salle Scout Group, to mark our 75th Anniversary. This was also in recognition of the fact that members of the De La Salle Scout Unit helped in the formation of the

Taking the helm of the Waterford Scout County

  • Published: January 22nd, 2004
  • Author:
  • Comments Closed

On the 20th of January last at the Waterford Crystal Sports Complex the New County Management Committee was elected. They are as follows: County Commissioner, Jody Phelan; County Chairperson, Brian Gaule – 1st Port of Waterford Sea Scouts; County Secretary, Alison Parle – St Pauls; County Treasurer, Brendan Doherty –

Group Christmas Mass and Awards

The annual Christmas Unit Mass and award ceremony was held on Sunday the 14th of December at the De La Salle College chapel.  The mass was celebrated by the Regional Chaplain, Fr. Tom Rogers and was attended by all sections in the Unit.   Kate Hayes, pictured below with her family