Congratulations to New County Commissioner

  • Published: March 8th, 2005
  • Author:
  • Comments Closed

Left: Tom O’Neill puzzles some scouts on a Waterford Scout County Fun Weekend.   Congratulations to Tom O’Neill who has been elected as the new Waterford Scout County Commissioner.  Tom who is the Scoutleader with the Tramore Scout Group was elected to the position at the County Board Meeting on the

Founders Day Awards Night

Left: Michael Kavanagh (7th Scouts) being presented with his Chief Scout’s Award. A Founders Day Awards night was held in the De La Salle School Hall on Friday 4th March at 7.30pm. The Chief Scout, Martin Burbidge presented Michael Kavanagh with his Chief Scout Award. Congratulations to Michael who is also

De La Salle Venturers bound for the USA

Congratulations to Kate Hayes of the De La Salle Venturer Group who has been accepted to go to Texas with the Chief Scout’s contingent which will be headed out there over the summer. Well done also to John Cummins and Patrick McCormack have been accepted for the Venturer Explorer Belt

Group congratulates New Programme Commissioners

The De La Salle Scout Group would like to extend it’s congratulations to all the new Programme Commissioners who were elected at the weekend at the National Management Committee meeting in Larch Hill. They are: Under 11’s: Pauline Lucas; Over 11’s: local Scoutleader Pat O’Connor; Participation: Neil Ledwith; National Events:

First County Commissioners Woodbadge Training Held

  • Published: January 27th, 2005
  • Author:
  • Comments Closed

The first Scouting Ireland County Commissioners Basic Woodbadge Training took place in the Centre for Excellence Training Centre in Waterford Crystal last weekend with all of the Provincial Management Support Team for the South East.  Waterford Crystal were so impressed with the level of management training that was provided for

County Venturers on Ireland’s highest peak

Left: Members of the Waterford Scout County Venture Scout Group on the summit of Ireland’s highest mountain – Corran Tuathail (1038m). [imagebrowser id=9]

Group Christmas Mass and Award Ceremony Held

Above: Bro. Finbar and Agnes Hayes receiving their presentation from the County Commissioner, Jody Phelan. The annual Group Christmas mass was held on Saturday 18th December at 6.30pm in the De La Salle College Chapel. There was a number of presentations made during the ceremony including  to Bro. Finbar O’Keeffe

Pipe Band Honoured at Mayoral Reception

                The De La Salle Scout Pipe Band were honoured with a Mayoral reception at City Hall on Thursday the 9th of December last. The Mayor of Waterford City, Seamus Ryan presented a Waterford Crystal Mayoral Plate to the band which was received

Service to Scout Shop in Waterford Recognised

The distinguished service of Agnes Hayes and Bro. Finbar O’Keeffe to Scout Shops Limited was recognised recently. The depot in Waterford shut its doors for the last time in October as part of a restructuring of Scout Shops operations across the country.  A number of presentations were made to Bro.

Group Members Honoured at Annual Youth Awards

Above (L-R): Joe Gough, WVYC; Michael Flynn, Waterford Crystal; Sue Larkin, WVYC, David Rogers, De La Salle Scout Group – Volunteer of the Year Winner; Mary Roche, Deputy Mayor and Cathy Hanrahan WVYC. Photo © Joe Evans, Waterford News and Star. Congratulations to Robert Windle (Roddy – below left) who won the